Something about Winter…

There’s just something about winter that makes me want to  go on an outdoor adventure.

Sure, there’s also A LOT about winter that makes me want to curl up under a pile of blankets, sip coffee all day, and read a good book.

But then there’s that something…

Winter is harsh and unforgiving and relentless.  Winter is long and cold and hard.  But winter is also crisp and clear and beautiful.  Winter is true to itself.

There’s something about the way winter pushes in on us so fast and forceful.  It never disguising itself like fall does with it’s Indian summer.  There’s no questioning winters arrival.

Winter does not make excuses for what it is, but in it’s harshest most honest states it is beautiful.  In the cold dark night when a snowflake lands gently on my eyelash and I know there never was nor will there ever be one just like it-winter shines.

Winter is real.

I think these reasons are why winter makes me want to adventure, because when I adventure I lean into the strongest parts of me.  When I adventure I forget about who I need to be at work and who I want to be in social settings and I rest in the joy of who I am and what I love.  The crunch of snow or leaves beneath my feet, residue of lake or ocean water sticky in my hair, traces of dirt and grime on my legs and face, the way my muscles move over rocks and trees in the forest-these are some of my most treasured things.  These things make me feel strong and authentic. When I explore, when I get caught up in the pure awesomeness of God’s creation around me, when I push myself to physical limits -this is when I often feel like my strongest and most beautiful self-my adventuring self.

Like winter-strong, beautiful, real.

Here’s to enjoying rather than enduring the winter this year.

Adventure my friends.

 

Leave a comment